Text Size   - | +

The City of Omaha sewer system consists of 3 types of collection systems, one for collecting waste or raw sewage(sanitary), another for rain water runoff(storm) and one that collects both(combined). The City's sewer system is divided naturally by terrain into the Missouri River System and the Papillion Creek System. Most of the City's development prior to 1940 is located in the Missouri River Sewer System, including a combined sewer system (CSO). The Papillion Creek Sewer System contains mostly separated sewer systems for sanitary and storm water.

The City of Omaha owns and maintains just over 2,100 miles of sewer collection pipelines in a service area that is approximately 320 square miles in both Douglas and Sarpy counties. They provide service for a population of approximately 600,000.

The City wastewater collection system leads to the treatment of wastewater at two major treatment facilities: the Missouri River Wastewater Treatment Plant (MRWWTP), located south of the Veterans Memorial (Highway 275) Bridge along the Missouri River, and the Papillion Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant (PCWWTP), located south of the City near Bellevue, Nebraska. A third, very small treatment facility, the Elkhorn Wastewater Treatment Plant is located near the western boundary of the City. The Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) collects rain water runoff and drains into either the Papillion Creek or Missouri River watersheds and is generally constrained to a service area within the Omaha City Limits.

Click here for more info on the Stormwater Program

Omaha Service Area:

service area map

Operations & Maintenance Services provided:

  • Hydraulic jetting of sewer lines (clears roots, debris, rags, grease)
  • Saw-cutting of sewer lines (clears heavier roots and deposits form lines)
  • Manhole cleaning and Debris removal
  • Vacuuming Grit Pits
  • Cleaning of Storm Water structures
  • Odor Control